Monday Musings: The Billy Beane Question

First off, let me apologize for the lack of updates… It was a combo of real life, lost in thought on a big post I’m working on, and being a little scatter-brained, something that happens to me on occasion.

Anyhow, as I watched the Angels sweep the A’s and assert themselves in the West, a question popped into my head: Can Billy Beane be fired?

Note: I’m not saying I want him to be fired, I don’t. I think he should be the A’s GM until the day he dies.

Rather, I was wondering, if A’s fans called for his head if they somehow missed the playoffs, due to the fact that the majority owner of the team rewarded Beane by giving him a minority stake in the team, does that stake make it harder for said owner (Lew Wolff) to unceremoniously kick him out the door?

Beane’s not getting fired this year, but if/when his job in on the line, how easy is it to fire a minority owner? Do you have to make him sell his stake first? If it were me, I’d never sell my stake in a team. Being an owner of any type is a pipe dream of mine and I’d cling onto that stake dearly.

Does that stake, combined with Beane’s reputation, make him unable to be fired?

Say he misses the playoffs, stays as the GM, a few years down the road pushes all his chips to the middle of the table again and the team faded away again, what then? Or would he even do that? Will this season, if it continues the way it’s headed, be a lesson learned for him? After all, he learned one lesson with the Jim Johnson fiasco. I don’t see him spending big money on a closer from outside the team again. Could the possible all-in failure be another lesson learned?

If there ever was a baseball person I’d love to sit down and chat with, it’s Beane. I don’t know if he’d like all the questions I’d have to ask though

Again, Sorry for the delay in posts, and as always, thanks for reading.

One thought on “Monday Musings: The Billy Beane Question”

  1. His position and GM and minority ownership would be independent. If he’s fired as GM he still owns a minority share of the team, but it is still a minority share. The principal owner, in this case Wolff, has direct control of the team and can make hiring and firing decisions without the input of any other owners.

    That said, with the success that Beane has had there. If I’m Wolff, Beane has that job until he decides he doesn’t want it anymore. Which seems to be what Wolff is thinking by handing him an ownership share.

    Now if Beane, after leaving the A’s, wanted to GM somewhere else, he would have to sell his ownership stake in the A’s. Which would be an interesting situation in itself.

    Like

Leave a Reply

