Trading Yadier Molina…

Ever play a computer or video game and get completely engrossed in it, so much so that you lose track of time, forget to do your chores, etc…?

Well that has happened with me and a game called Out of the Park 15, a baseball simulation where you are the GM as well as the Manager, and you can be in control as much or as little as you want. I prefer to focus on the GM side for the most part.

Well, last year, the last two years, thanks to moves focused on increasing young depth, I made the playoffs. Well, this year (the 2016 or 2017 off-season, I forget which) the reckoning came. Thanks to arbitration and existing contracts, I was 50 Million dollars in the hole!

Well, I made some trades, trimmed that down to 20 million, with more trimming to go, and now I’m faced with a dilemma…I have a young catcher who rates nearly as good as Yadier Molina. Yadi has one of the 3 or 4 most expensive contracts on the team. He’s also in his mid 30’s, 33 or 34, I forget. Whereas the other guy is still under his rookie contract.

If your a GM, and you have a Home Grown HOF caliber player who still has 4 or 5 years of playing time left, still is at least productive enough to get by, but and have a young player who could be just as valuable, if not more so, ready to step in. what do you do? Do you treat it as strictly business, either trading the vet or releasing him, saying so long and thanks for the memories? Do you get sentimental and keep him until he retires, having him play part time if needed, and basically eating his salary, all for the sake of letting him retire with the only team he has ever played for?

I’d probably do the latter. I think I’d be a bad GM in the real world. Too sentimental.

 

Thanks for reading

Leave a Reply

