Lesson Learned: Don’t Give Up On The St. Louis Cardinals.

Last night, I was following the Cards game against the Milwaukee Brewers, and they fell behind six to zero after the 2nd inning, thanks to Joe Kelly being rusty as he just came off the DL. At this point, I essentially gave up on the game. Up until this point in the season, we haven’t scored 6 or more runs in a game very often, so I didn’t think that’d happen this time. Plus Milwaukee had scored in the first two innings, I figured they’d continue to pile on the runs.

I made two mistakes:

1) I underestimated the Cards offense: In my defense, this was easy to do, as mentioned above. They did something I don’t think they’ve done all year: They hit four home runs. Kolten Wong, Matt Adams and Jhonny Peralta and Matt Holliday all homered, with Holliday’s homerun being the clincher.

2) I underestimated our bullpen. By now I should know better, as we have one of the best bullpens in the league, even if Trevor Rosenthal has some shaky ninth innings. I mean, how teams have an  All-Star Quality setup man. We do in Pat Neshek. Seth Maness is good too, and Sam Freeman has been a nice surprise as well. All in all it has been one of the better ‘pens in the league.

Leave a Reply

